Eight professors elected to National Academy of Sciences

Eight Stanford faculty members have been elected to receive one of the highest honors for an American scientist or engineer. Their expertise spans the scientific gamut from photon science to federalism and from adrenergic receptors to early lexical acquisition.

Eight Stanford professors have been elected to the prestigious National Academy of Sciences, an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use for the general welfare.

Recognized for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research were Keith Hodgson, David Kingsley, Brian Kobilka, Robert Malenka, Ellen Markman, Susan McConnell, Parviz Moin and Barry Weingast.

The eight were joined by 64 other new members and 18 foreign associates. There are now 2,113 active members in the academy. Established by an act of Congress in 1863, the academy has served to "investigate, examine, experiment and report upon any subject of science or art" when called upon by the government. Election to the academy is one of the highest honors an American scientist or engineer can receive.

Diana Rogers Keith Hodgson

Keith Hodgson

Keith Hodgson is the David Mulvane Ehrsam and Edward Curtis Franklin Professor of Chemistry. He is also the associate lab director for photon science, chief research officer and professor of photon science at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. As one of the first users of the Stanford Synchrotron Radiation Lightsource, he and his students did pioneering work in the use of synchrotron X-rays to determine the crystal structures of proteins and the development of X-ray absorption spectroscopy to study biological and chemical systems.

Steve Fisch David Kingsley

David Kingsley

David Kingsley is a professor of developmental biology and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. He uses a variety of genetic, cellular and molecular approaches to study how new traits evolve in natural populations of vertebrates.

Brian Kobilka

Brian Kobilka

Brian Kobilka is a professor and chair of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Physiology. Kobilka, who is also a professor of medicine, studies several aspects of the biology of adrenergic receptors.

Steve Fisch Robert Malenka

Robert Malenka

Robert Malenka is the Nancy Friend Pritzker Professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and director of the Nancy Friend Pritzker Laboratory. His research involves the study of neuroplasticity and the molecular events that affect it. He also studies how drugs such as cocaine and amphetamines affect synaptic activity.

L.A. Cicero Ellen Markman

Ellen Markman

Ellen Markman is the Lewis M. Terman Professor of Psychology. Markman's research centers on cognitive and language development, especially early lexical acquisition, conceptual organization, categorization and inductive reasoning in children and infants.

Susan McConnell

Susan McConnell

Susan McConnell is the Susan B. Ford Professor in the Department of Biology. She studies the development of the cerebral cortex, the brain region that controls our highest cognitive and perceptual functions. Her studies provide insights into the process of how the brain wires itself during normal development.

Parviz Moin

Parviz Moin

Parviz Moin is the Franklin P. and Caroline M. Johnson Professor in the School of Engineering. His research focuses on the development of advanced numerical tools and computational frameworks to predict the physics of turbulent flows in engineering systems. He conducts fundamental research on turbulence phenomena including shock-turbulence interactions, aerodynamic noise, hydro-acoustics, aero-optics and turbulent combustion.

Barry Weingast

Barry Weingast

Barry Weingast is the Ward C. Krebs Family Professor in the Department of Political Science and a senior fellow at the Hoover Institution. Weingast's work focuses on political economy, new economics of organization and institutions, American politics and federalism.