Stanford University Home

Stanford News Archive

Stanford Report, May 17, 2000

Koller and Moler awarded Presidential Early Career Awards

Daphne Koller and Kathryn A. Moler, assistant professors of computer science and applied physics, respectively, were among 60 researchers nationally to receive Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers, the highest honor given by the U.S. government to young professionals at the beginning of their independent research careers. Awardees receive a research grant for up to five years to further their study in support of critical government missions.

Yoshihisa Yamamoto, professor of electrical engineering and applied physics, has received this year's Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers/Laser and Electro-Optics Society Quantum Electronics Award, presented annually for outstanding technical contributions to quantum electronics.