Thirteen Stanford faculty members are among the 269 new members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which honors exceptional scholars who discover and advance knowledge and who apply knowledge to the problems of society.

When announcing this year’s new members, Academy President David W. Oxtoby said, “With the election of these members, the Academy is honoring excellence, innovation, and leadership and recognizing a broad array of stellar accomplishments. We hope every new member celebrates this achievement and joins our work advancing the common good.”

Stanford’s new Academy members are:

Alfredo Artiles – the Lee L. Jacks Professor of Education in the Graduate School of Education; faculty director of the Stanford Center for Opportunity Policy in Education; and director of research at the Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity

Sally M. Benson – the Precourt Family Professor and professor energy science and engineering in the Stanford Doerr School of Sustainability; senior fellow at the Precourt Institute for Energy and the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment; and co-director of the Stanford Center for Carbon Storage

Laura L. Carstensen – the Fairleigh S. Dickinson Jr. Professor in Public Policy; professor of psychology in the School of Humanities and Sciences (H&S); founding director of the Stanford Center on Longevity; and member of the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute

Amir Dembo – the Marjorie Mhoon Fair Professor of Quantitative Science and professor of mathematics and statistics in H&S

Larry Diamond – the Mosbacher Senior Fellow in Global Democracy at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies (FSI); William L. Clayton Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution; professor (by courtesy) of sociology and of political science in H&S; and faculty affiliate of the Institute for Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence (HAI)

Daniel Herschlag – professor of biochemistry in the School of Medicine; member of Stanford Bio-X and the Stanford Cancer Institute; and faculty fellow at Sarafan ChEM-H

Eric Kool – the George A. And Hilda M. Daubert Professor of Chemistry in H&S; member of Bio-X, the Maternal & Child Health Research Institute (MCHRI), the Stanford Cancer Institute, and the Wu Tsai Neurosciences Institute; and faculty fellow at Sarafan ChEM-H

Yvonne (Bonnie) Maldonado – senior associate dean for faculty development and diversity at the School of Medicine; Taube Professor of Global Health and Infectious Diseases; and professor of pediatrics and of epidemiology and population health

Ato Quayson – the Jean G. and Morris M. Doyle Professor in Interdisciplinary Studies and chair of the Department of English in H&S

Elizabeth Traugott – professor emerita of linguistics and of English, in H&S

Risa Wechsler – professor of physics in H&S and of particle physics and astrophysics at SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory; and director of the Kavli Institute for Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology (KIPAC)

Heidi Williams – the Charles R. Schwab Professor of Economics in H&S and senior fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR)

Steven Zipperstein – the Daniel E. Koshland Professor in Jewish Culture and History in H&S