Three Stanford faculty members have been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). RODNEY EWING, professor of geological sciences; ANDREA GOLDSMITH, professor of electrical engineering; and LEONIDAS GUIBAS, professor of computer science, are among 84 new members joining NAE this year.

Election to the academy is among the highest professional distinctions in the field of engineering. According to the NAE, membership honors outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to engineering literature” and “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Ewing’s membership recognizes his research on “the long-term behavior of complex ceramic materials to assess their suitability for engineered nuclear waste sequestration.” He is a professor in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences and the Frank Stanton Professor in Nuclear Security at the Center for International Security and Cooperation at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies.

The NAE honored Goldsmith, the Stephen Harris Professor in the School of Engineering, for her work on adaptive and multi-antenna wireless communications. She is also a member of the Stanford Neurosciences Institute.

Guibas, the Paul Pigott Professor in the School of Engineering, was cited for his research on data structures, algorithm analysis and computational geometry. He is also a member of Stanford Bio-X and the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment.

In total, the academy has 2,281 members including 249 foreign members.