Nine Stanford faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences

The faculty members have been elected to receive one of the highest honors for an American scientist in recognition of their achievements in original research.

Nine Stanford faculty members have been elected as new members of the National Academy of Sciences. The academy is an honorific society that recognizes distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The academy’s honorees have included such renowned scientists and inventors as Albert Einstein, Robert Oppenheimer, Thomas Edison, Orville Wright and Alexander Graham Bell. Nearly 200 living members of the academy have won Nobel Prizes.

The Stanford scholars were among the 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries elected this year, bringing the total number of active members to 2,291 and the total number of foreign associates to 465.

The new members will be formally inducted next April during the academy’s 154th annual meeting in Washington, D.C.:

Helen M. Blau, the Donald E. and Delia B. Baxter Foundation Professor and director of the Baxter Laboratory for Stem Cell Biology at the School of Medicine

John C. Boothroyd, the Burt and Marion Avery Professor of Immunology, Stanford School of Medicine

Hongjie Dai, the J.G. Jackson and C.J. Wood Professor of Chemistry

Jennifer Eberhardt, associate professor of psychology

Martin M. Fejer, professor of applied physics and co-director of Stanford Photonics Research Center

Hazel R. Markus, the Davis-Brack Professor in the Behavioral Sciences

Maryam Mirzakhani; professor of mathematics

Stephen R. Palumbi, the Jane and Marshall Steel Jr. Professor in Marine Sciences, director of Hopkins Marine Station and senior fellow at the Woods Institute for the Environment

Paul Segall, professor of geophysics