John Etchemendy, Eaven Boland, Marc Tessier-Lavigne, and Steve Denning seated and laughing.

Provost John Etchemendy, English Professor Eavan Boland, President Marc Tessier-Lavigne and Board of Trustees Chair Steve Denning enjoy remarks by President Emeritus Gerhard Casper at the inauguration and investiture of Marc Tessier-Lavigne as Stanford's 11th president. (Image credit: L.A. Cicero)