Nine Stanford faculty members are among the 213 new members elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, which honors exceptional scholars, leaders, artists and innovators.

The new Stanford members to join the Class of 2018 are:

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar, a visiting law professor, began serving on the California Supreme Court in January 2015. Prior, he was the Stanley Morrison Professor of Law and Professor (by courtesy) of Political Science at Stanford University and held leadership positions at Stanford’s Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies. Cuéllar’s research includes administrative law and legislation, criminal law, international law, cyberlaw, immigration, public health law, and the history of institutions.

Paula E. Findlen, a professor of history and the Ubaldo Pierotti Professor of Italian History, whose research interests include the Italian Renaissance and the early history of science and medicine. Findlen’s research also examines the relationship between gender, culture and knowledge.

Judith Frydman, a professor of genetics and biology and the Donald Kennedy Chair in the School of Humanities and Sciences, whose research aims to understand how proteins fold in living cells. Frydman’s lab also explores how cell impairment is linked to disease, including cancer and neurodegenerative diseases.

Leonidas J. Guibas, a computer science professor and the Paul Pigott Professor in the School of Engineering who works on algorithms for sensing, modeling, reasoning, rendering and acting on the physical world. He is also a member of Bio-X, an affiliate at the Stanford Woods Institute for the Environment and professor, by courtesy, of electrical engineering.

Renata Kallosh, a professor of physics and professor, by courtesy, of mathematics who is well known for her contributions to theoretical physics, particularly to string theory. She currently works on the general structure of supergravity and string theory and their applications to cosmology.

Mark A. Lemley, a professor at Stanford Law School, the William Neukom Professor in Law and senior fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, whose research areas include antitrust and regulation, intellectual property, law and economics. He is also a member of the Stanford Neurosciences Institute.

Debra Satz, a professor of philosophy, the Marta Sutton Weeks Professor of Ethics in Society and professor, by courtesy, of political science, whose work addresses contemporary public policy debates, including the ethical limits of markets; the meaning and place of equality in a just society; and issues of international justice.

Paul H. Wise, the Richard E. Behrman Professor of Child Health and Society, professor of pediatrics, and a Senior Fellow in the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, whose work focuses on health inequalities, maternal and child health policy, and health in areas of violent conflict, political instability and weak governance.

Joanna K. Wysocka, a professor of chemical and systems biology and of developmental biology, whose research goal is to understand the epigenetic basis of vertebrate development and differentiation. Wysocka is also a member of Bio-X, Stanford Cancer Institute and Stanford Neurosciences Institute

Also inducted into the 2018 Class is philanthropist and entrepreneur Laurene Powell Jobs, who is a member of the Stanford Board of Trustees. Jobs is founder and president of Emerson Collective, an organization dedicated to removing barriers to opportunity so people can live to their full potential.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences serves the nation as a champion of scholarship, civil dialogue and useful knowledge. The academy’s projects and publications generate ideas and offer recommendations to advance the public good in the arts, citizenship, education, energy, government, the humanities, international relations, science and more.