Eight members of the Stanford community have been named recipients of the 2017 Cuthbertson, Dinkelspiel and Gores awards, which honor individuals for exceptional contributions to Stanford, for distinctive contributions to undergraduate education and for excellence in teaching.

This year’s recipients will receive their awards on Sunday, June 18, during the 126th Commencement ceremony.

Jeff Wachtel, executive director of the Knight-Hennessy Scholars Program (Image credit: L.A. Cicero)

Cuthbertson Award

Jeff Wachtel, executive director of the Knight-Hennessy Scholars Program, is the 2017 winner of the Kenneth M. Cuthbertson Award for Exceptional Service to Stanford University. The Cuthbertson Award, established by members of the faculty in 1981, was named after one of the early architects of Stanford’s long-term financial planning and fundraising program.

Wachtel was honored “for his care and concern for individuals, deep humanism and problem solving skills, and commitment to the university,” and “for his distinguished service to Stanford, ingenuity in meeting university objectives and exceptional technical and emotional intelligence.”

Wachtel was commended “for his crucial contributions to Stanford’s significant public service initiative, Cardinal Service.”

Dinkelspiel Award

The Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Award for Distinctive Contributions to Undergraduate Education, named after the late president of the Board of Trustees who served from 1953 to 1958, recognizes outstanding service to undergraduate education and the quality of student life.

The 2017 Dinkelspiel Award recipients are Greg Boardman, Adam Schorin and Ross Venook.

Greg Boardman is vice provost for student affairs, which advances student development and learning, fosters community engagement, promotes diversity, inclusion and respect, and empowers students to thrive.

Boardman was honored “for his equanimity, good humor, competence and steadfast commitment to what is best for Stanford.” He was commended “for his approach to each situation with a problem-solving perspective” and “for his support of Cardinal Service, Stanford’s significant public service initiative.”

Adam Schorin is a bachelor’s degree candidate in American Studies, an interdisciplinary program that blends courses in history, literature, social sciences and the arts.

Schorin was honored “for outstanding involvement with the Nepal Medical Project, which helped people in remote and impoverished regions of the world.” He was commended “for contributions as a founder and editor-in-chief of Stanford’s West Magazine, which created a place for artists to contribute their wit, humor, and compassion” and “for being a generous innovative contributor to the life of the Stanford undergraduate community.”

Ross Venook is a lecturer in Stanford Bioengineering, a joint program of the School of Engineering and Stanford Medicine.

Venook was honored “for his major contributions as an instructor in the Department of Bioengineering, which include restructuring and developing two core curriculum laboratory courses.” He was commended “for transforming the culture of Stanford undergraduates’ experience through his humor, compassion, charisma and genuine desire to help everyone succeed.”

Gores Award

The Walter J. Gores Award is the university’s highest teaching honor. The award is named for the late Professor Walter J. Gores, a member of the Stanford Class of 1917 who became a professor of design at the University of Michigan.

The 2017 recipients are Leila Glass, Kian Katanforoosh, Dan Reineman and Mike Tomz.

Lelia Glass, PhD candidate in linguistics, was honored “for deep commitment to mentoring and educating undergraduates, and for being approachable, understanding and knowledgeable.” She was commended “for dedication in building community among students, and helping them forge paths beyond Stanford.”

Kian Katanforoosh, master’s degree candidate in management science and engineering, was honored “for always maintaining an enthusiastic demeanor that reflects a passion for teaching.” He was commended “for teaching Introduction to Cryptography and excelling in communication and classroom management,” and “for encouraging and inspiring students to develop their own understanding of problems and resolutions.”

Dan Reineman, lecturer in the School of Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences, was honored “for being a knowledgeable, caring, enthusiastic and thoughtful mentor” and “for his teaching and participation in the Wrigley Field Program in Hawaii, which facilitated exploration and self-driven discovery for students. He was honored “for being a beacon of light and positivity for students.”

Mike Tomz, a professor of political science and senior fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, was honored “for being a leader in transforming the undergraduate experience for political science students at Stanford through dynamic content of the highest academic quality.” He was commended “for the creation and stewardship of the Political Science Summer Research College,” and “for being an outstanding, caring, and conscientious teacher who is a model of high expectations and generosity.”