Three members of Stanford’s staff have been selected to receive 2016 Amy J. Blue Awards, which honor staff members who are exceptionally dedicated, supportive of colleagues and passionate about their work.

Amy J. Blue

Amy J. Blue was known as a woman of intelligence, honesty and energy. (Image credit: Stanford News Service)

This year’s Amy J. Blue Award winners are Lynn Dixon, a faculty data systems specialist in Faculty Affairs, a division of the Office of the Provost; Jörg Grawert, a lead maintenance multicraft trade technician in Student Housing, which is part of Residential & Dining Enterprises; and Nancy Lonhart, associate director, Center for Health Policy at the Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies, and division manager of Primary Care & Outcomes Research in the Department of Medicine.

President John Hennessy is scheduled to present each recipient with an Amy J. Blue Award on Tuesday, May 17, in the Gunn Atrium of Bing Concert Hall, which is located at 327 Lasuen Street, at Museum Way.

The ceremony, which is open to families, friends and colleagues of the recipients, is scheduled for 3:30 p.m. Refreshments will be served.

Profiles of the winners will appear in Stanford Report the week before the ceremony.

The Amy J. Blue Award, now in its 26th year, includes a $4,000 prize.

The awards were established in 1991 to honor the life and work of Amy J. Blue, an associate vice president for administrative services and facilities who died of brain cancer in May 1988, about a month before her 45th birthday.

Stanford created a garden in her name, a small oasis of flowering trees and shrubs now located near Memorial Church. It has four wooden benches, including one that rocks, and a sundial with an engraved motto: “Count only happy hours.”

Blue was known as a whirlwind of a woman who propelled excitement, intensity and novelty into every undertaking. She also was known as an extraordinary leader – a woman of incisive intelligence, abundant energy and unrelenting honesty.