American Academy of Arts and Sciences elects 6 Stanford professors to 2016 class

Six Stanford faculty members were tapped for membership in the 2016 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the country’s oldest and most prestigious honorary learned societies.

Stanford’s new members this year include:

Eavan Boland, the Bella Mabury and Eloise Mabury Knapp Professor in Humanities and director of the creative writing program

Jennifer Eberhardt, associate professor of psychology and co-director of Stanford’s Social Psychological Answers to Real-World Questions

Gerald Fuller, Fletcher Jones II Professor in the School of Engineering

Helen Longino, Clarence Irving Lewis Professor of Philosophy

M. Elizabeth Magill, Richard E. Lang Professor of Law and dean of Stanford Law School

Anne Villeneuve, professor of developmental biology and of genetics

For more information, read the list of the academy’s new members. The 236th class of members will be inducted at a ceremony on Oct. 8 in Cambridge, Mass.

Founded in 1780, AAAS’ membership today includes more than 4,600 fellows and 600 foreign honorary members in mathematics, the physical and biological sciences, medicine, the social sciences and humanities, business, government, public affairs and the arts. Among the academy’s fellows are more than 250 Nobel laureates and 60 Pulitzer Prize winners.