Category: Awards

Kenneth Goodson

Goodson named American Physical Society fellow

by on January 7, 2015 4:24 pm
  KENNETH GOODSON, the Robert Bosch Chairman of the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Davies Family Provostial Professor, has been named a fellow of the American Physical Society. Goodson, a heat transfer specialist with interests ranging from smartphones to vehicle waste heat recovery, was cited “for contributions to the understanding of phonon and electron… Read more Goodson named American Physical Society fellow
Photo of Page Chamberlain in a lab

Stanford professor wins inaugural award for nature research

by on December 19, 2014 4:00 am
  PAGE CHAMBERLAIN, professor of environmental Earth system science, was recently awarded the inaugural Senckenberg Prize for Nature Research. Chamberlain received the prize from Germany’s Senckenberg Society at an award ceremony held in Frankfurt. An expert in isotope geology, Chamberlain has advanced the understanding of erosion mechanisms, the carbon cycle, climate and precipitation patterns by… Read more
Nicole Ardoin

Researcher studies the long-term impact of zoos

by on December 17, 2014 4:38 pm
A visit to the zoo gives kids a chance to see animals they may never otherwise experience. It’s also an opportunity for deep engagement and learning in science. To date, however, the long-term impacts of learning science outside the classroom aren’t well known. Researchers wonder whether the lessons last, how best to connect these lessons… Read more Researcher studies the long-term impact of zoos
Headshots of Stacy Villalobos (left) and Nisha Kashyap

Stanford Law School students named Skadden Fellows

by on December 16, 2014 4:00 am
Making a difference for the less fortunate is the goal of the Skadden Foundation. Now Stanford Law School’s NISHA KASHYAP, JD ’14, and STACY VILLALOBOS, JD ’15, will have an opportunity to devote themselves to good works for two years. On Dec. 11, they were named 2015 Skadden Fellows. Kashyap and Villalobos join a group… Read more

Stanford professor wins Buckley Prize, the top honor in condensed matter physics

by on November 24, 2014 4:00 am
AHARON KAPITULNIK, the Theodore and Sydney Rosenberg Professor in Applied Physics, has been awarded the 2015 Oliver E. Buckley Condensed Matter Prize. The Buckley Prize is the oldest prize awarded by the American Physical Society (APS). It is one of the most prestigious prizes awarded in the field of physics, and is considered the highest honor… Read more Stanford professor wins Buckley Prize, the top honor in condensed matter physics
Photo of Jens Norskov

Stanford professor wins 2015 Irving Langmuir Prize

by on November 17, 2014 10:20 pm
JENS NØRSKOV, a professor at Stanford University and the Department of Energy’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, will receive the 2015 Irving Langmuir Prize of the American Physical Society for his groundbreaking work on catalysis, which is used to promote chemical reactions in thousands of industrial processes for making fertilizers, fuels, plastics and a host of other products.… Read more Stanford professor wins 2015 Irving Langmuir Prize
Head shot of Keith Baker

Stanford professor wins American Historical Association lifetime achievement award

by on November 13, 2014 5:00 pm
Stanford history Professor KEITH BAKER has won an Award for Scholarly Distinction from the American Historical Association. Each year the AHA honors senior historians in the United States for lifetime achievement in the discipline. Baker is one of three to win the award for 2014. “This came as a complete surprise,” Baker said. “I was… Read more

Stanford scholars tapped for quantum materials research grants

by on November 10, 2014 10:00 pm
The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation recently chose three Stanford affiliates – AHARON KAPITULNIK, ZHI-XUN SHEN, professors of physics and applied physics at Stanford, and TONY HEINZ, who will join Stanford’s faculty in January – for one of the top grants in quantum materials research. The Moore Experimental Investigators in Quantum Materials grants to Stanford… Read more Stanford scholars tapped for quantum materials research grants
Michele Landis Dauber

Law School's Michele Dauber recognized for first book

by on November 10, 2014 4:00 am
The American Society for Legal History is among the many organizations recognizing MICHELE LANDIS DAUBER for her first book, The Sympathetic State: Disaster Relief and the Origins of the American Welfare State. The society recently announced that it had awarded its 2014 John Philip Reid Award to Dauber, professor of law and Bernard D. Bergreen… Read more Law School's Michele Dauber recognized for first book
Livia Eberlin

Post doc Livia Eberlin named outstanding female scientist

by on November 6, 2014 4:00 am
LIVIA EBERLIN,  a post-doctoral scholar in chemistry, has been named a recipient of the 2014 L’Oreal USA for Women in Science Fellowship. The award recognizes five U.S.-based female researchers for their outstanding contributions to science, technology, engineering and math fields. The award includes a $60,000 prize and an opportunity to participate in a White House… Read more