Six named AAAS Fellows from Stanford and SLAC

Six researchers from Stanford and the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory have been named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of their “scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.”

Risa Wechsler
Risa Wechsler is one of six researchers from Stanford who were selected as AAAS Fellows. (Photo by Chris Smith)

489 AAAS Fellows were named this year. The fellows from Stanford and SLAC are:

YI CUI (Chemistry) – For his outstanding contributions on materials chemistry for energy and the environment, particularly on the next generation of batteries.

PAUL DAVID (Social, Economic and Political Sciences) – For contributions to theoretical and statistical “new economic history” of U.S., path dependence and economics of science and technology.

RONALD DAVIS (Medical Sciences) – For pioneering work in functional genomics and clinical genomics, and in particular his development of novel technologies.

YING LU (Statistics) – For distinguished contributions to the advancement of statistics in medical and biomedical research, particularly for the quality control and risk prediction associated with medical diagnosis.

NIRAO SHAH (Neuroscience) – For exceptional contributions to the field of behavioral neuroscience, particularly the dissection of neural circuits and transcriptomics controlling social behaviors.

RISA WECHSLER (Astronomy) – For scientific contributions and leadership of large programs in cosmology and large-scale structure to resolve the nature of dark matter and energy.

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science. The tradition of AAAS fellows began in 1874. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin to commemorate their election.