Prominent alumni join in welcoming new graduate students to Stanford

President Marc Tessier-Lavigne joined Vice Provost for Graduate Education Stacey Bent and a host of students, staff and alumni in welcoming some 2,200 new graduate students to Stanford on Sept. 10. The virtual event was livestreamed as one of the final events of New Graduate Student Orientation. View the welcome here.

Prominent alumni who earned graduate degrees at Stanford added their welcomes to new students. They include:

Mariano-Florentino Cuéllar, PhD ’00
Associate Justice, California Supreme Court

Yvonne Maldonado, MD ’81
Senior Associate Dean, Faculty Development and Diversity, and Professor, Stanford University School of Medicine

Ellen Ochoa, MS ’81, PhD ’85
Director, Johnson Space Center, NASA, Former Stanford Trustee

Lily Sarafan, ’03, MS ’03
CEO Home Care Assistance, Stanford Trustee Elect

Greg Sarris, MA ’81, MA ’88, PhD ’89
Tribal Chairman, Federated Indians of Graton Rancheria

Charles Schwab, ’59, MBA ’61
Chair of the Board, Charles Schwab Corporation, Former Stanford Trustee

Nicole Taylor, ’90, MA ’91
President and CEO, Silicon Valley Community Foundation

Jerry Yang, ’90, MS ’90
Co-founder, Yahoo, Stanford Trustee

Charles Young, ’91, MBA ’03
COO and Executive Vice President, Invitation Homes, Stanford Trustee