Soccer star Catarina Macario again wins Hermann Trophy

Catarina Macario
Catarina Macario. (Courtesy of the Missouri Athletic Club)

Junior CATARINA MACARIO has become the fifth woman in history to win the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy twice in a row as the nation’s top collegiate woman soccer player.

The MAC Hermann Trophy, a 10-pound crystal soccer ball awarded annually since 1967, honors the United Soccer Coaches National Players of the Year in NCAA Division I men’s and women’s soccer based on voting conducted by NCAA Division I coaches.

Hailing from San Diego and majoring in communication, Macario led the NCAA in goals (32), assists (23) and points (87), all of which were single-season program records. The attacking midfielder is the fifth player in NCAA history to win the award two years in a row, joining the ranks of Morgan Brian (2013-14), Christine Sinclair (2004-05), Cindy Parlow (1997-98) and Mia Hamm (1992-93).

“I would like to congratulate Catarina on yet another thoroughly-deserved recognition,” said the Knowles Family Director of Women’s Soccer PAUL RATCLIFFE, whose student-athletes have captured six of the last 11 Hermann Trophies. “She is not only one of the best players I have had the privilege of coaching but is also a wonderful human being who deeply cares for everyone around her.”

Macario’s 87 points were the third-most in NCAA history behind Hamm (98) and Sinclair (88) and are the most in program history by 22 points, well ahead of the previous program record held by Kelley O’Hara (2009). Macario is the program’s first two-time winner of the award after joining O’Hara (2009), Christen Press (2010), Teresa Noyola (2011) and Andi Sullivan (2017) in 2018.

Stanford captured its third national championship on Dec. 8 in a 0-0, penalty shootout victory over North Carolina. Led by Macario, the Cardinal set a program record with 102 goals.