SIEPR creates new prize, names Volcker first recipient

Paul Volcker

The Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research (SIEPR) announced recently that it has created a new award, the SIEPR Prize for Contributions to Economic Policy. Former Federal Reserve Chairman PAUL VOLCKER will be the first recipient. The idea for the SIEPR Prize and the initial funding came from former Secretary of State and Hoover Fellow GEORGE SHULTZ and a group of leading economists.
In addition to Shultz, the selection committee includes SIEPR Director JOHN SHOVEN, Stanford Nobel Prize-winning economists KENNETH ARROW and GARY BECKER and MIT’s JIM POTERBA, president of the National Bureau of Economic Research.
According to the press release, the recipient of the SIEPR Prize receives an award of $100,000. SIEPR has set a goal of raising $1.5 million to endow the prize and currently has funds or pledges in excess of half of that amount. The full announcement is on SIEPR’s website.