Trouble viewing? Open in web browser.

Journalist Resources Stanford News Stanford Experts Contact Us
Stanford University homepage

News Service

October 25, 2007

Five university scholars among fellows newly elected to AAAS

By Louis Bergeron

Five Stanford professors are among the 471 newly elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest organization of scientists. Election as a fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

Steven Artandi, Laura Attardi, Christopher Chidsey, Karen Cook and Fritz Prinz will be presented with certificates and pins on Feb. 16, during the AAAS annual meeting in Boston. The scientists were chosen "because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications," according to a statement by AAAS in Washington, D.C.

Steven E. Artandi, assistant professor of medicine (hematology), was elected for his innovative contributions toward elucidating the roles of telomeres and telomerase in cancer.

Laura D. Attardi, assistant professor of radiation oncology and of genetics, was elected for her research contributions in understanding the p53 transcription factor using mouse models to understand cancer progression.

Christopher E. D. Chidsey, associate professor of chemistry and associate professor of photon science at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, was elected for his distinguished contributions to understanding molecular electronics and its applications to energy efficiency, and for his commitment to improving teaching and learning.

Karen S. Cook, the Ray Lyman Wilbur Professor of Sociology and professor, by courtesy, of education, was elected for her outstanding work on social exchange, networks and trust, including the establishment of one of the first computerized laboratories for the study of exchange. Cook is chair of the Department of Sociology and director of Stanford's Institute for Research in the Social Sciences (IRiSS).

Friedrich B. "Fritz" Prinz, the Rodney H. Adams Professor of Engineering and the Robert Bosch Chair of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, was elected for his distinguished contributions to the field of mechanical engineering and visionary leadership in academic administration.

Founded in 1848, AAAS fulfills its mission to "advance science and serve society" through its projects, programs and publications, including the journal Science. The tradition of naming AAAS fellows began in 1874.



Louis Bergeron, Stanford News Service: (650) 725-1944,

Related Information


Update your subscription

  • Email:
  • Phone: (650) 723-2558

More Stanford coverage

Facebook Twitter iTunes YouTube Futurity RSS

Journalist Resources Stanford News Stanford Experts Contact Us

© Stanford University. Stanford, California 94305. (650) 723-2300.