Skip to main content

Faculty senate

Survey reveals COVID-19’s significant stress on Stanford faculty

Anne Joseph O’Connell, law, and Sara Singer, medicine, members of the Faculty Women’s Forum, presented to the Faculty Senate results of a survey that reflect the stress caused by COVID-19, particularly among women faculty, as well as those who are pre-tenure, at the lowest salary levels and with family obligations.

Read More

Stanford’s African and African-American Studies moves closer to becoming a department

At a wide-ranging Campus Conversation about the university’s racial justice initiatives, Provost Persis Drell announced that a committee will be formed to develop the details of making Stanford’s Program in African and African American Studies a department.

Read More

Faculty Senate seeks future report on increased collaboration between Hoover Institution and Stanford

The Faculty Senate will receive a report on efforts to increase collaboration between the Hoover Institution and the rest of Stanford as a result of a sometimes contentious debate involving issues of academic freedom and freedom of speech.

Read More

Stanford’s relationship to the Hoover Institution highlights Faculty Senate discussion

At its first meeting of the winter quarter, the Faculty Senate heard a presentation on the Hoover Institution and passed proposals intended to deemphasize the importance of wealth in undergraduate admission decisions.

Read More

Faculty Senate condemns COVID-19 actions of Hoover’s Scott Atlas

In its last meeting of the autumn quarter, the Stanford Faculty Senate condemned the COVID-19-related actions of Hoover senior fellow and presidential adviser Scott Atlas. The Faculty Senate also approved a new policy on Open Access to make scholarly works more widely available.

Read More

A political scientist at the helm of the Faculty Senate

Judith L. Goldstein, who is the Janet M. Peck Professor of International Communication in the Department of Political Science and a senior fellow at the Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, is serving as chair of the 2020-21 Faculty Senate of the Academic Council.

Read More