Stanford VPGE announces 2020-22 DARE fellows

Stanford’s Office of the Vice Provost for Graduate Education has named 22 Stanford PhD students as the 13th cohort of the Diversifying Academia, Recruiting Excellence (DARE) Doctoral Fellowship Program.

The program, which was launched in 2008, prepares students from diverse backgrounds to pursue and succeed in academic careers. Recipients are awarded during the last two years of their PhD program. There are currently more than 150 alumni of the program who have successfully launched careers in academia, industry and government.

Provost Persis Drell and Vice Provost for Graduate Education Stacey Bent will formally recognize the fellows at an online reception on Tuesday, Oct. 6.

The 2020-22 DARE fellows are:

  • Lauren Abrahams, Geophysics
  • AJ Alvero, Education
  • Luis Armona, Economics
  • Tyler Bonnen, Psychology
  • Christopher P. Cameron, Mechanical Engineering
  • Rosa Chavez, Education
  • Wendy De La Rosa, Graduate School of Business
  • Brooke Durham, History
  • Eric Gonzalez, Mechanical Engineering
  • Sandra Habtamu, Education
  • Esiteli Hafoka, Religious Studies
  • Claire-Alice Hébert, Applied Physics
  • Tao Large, Chemistry
  • Koji Lau-Ozawa, Anthropology
  • Dannielle McCarthy, Chemistry
  • Josselyn Peña, Immunology
  • Christopher Perez, Mechanical Engineering
  • Priscilla San Juan, Biology
  • Olivier Simon, Physics
  • Adam M.-A. Simpson, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Lyne P. Tchapmi, Electrical Engineering
  • Maha Yusuf, Chemical Engineering

Read the full announcement on the VPGE website.