George Shultz among those honored by Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame banner
Eight former student-athletics have been elected into the Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame.

Eight former Cardinal student-athletes have been elected to the Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame. They are baseball’s JEFF AUSTIN, volleyball’s FOLUKE AKINRADEWO, wrestling’s TANNER GARDNER, tennis’ SUSAN HAGEY WALL, basketball’s MARK MADSEN, tennis’ DIANE MORRISON SHROPSHIRE, football’s BILL TARR and gymnastics’ TABITHA YIM.

In addition, former U.S. secretary of state GEORGE SHULTZ will receive special recognition at the Sept. 20 induction ceremony. The group will be recognized publicly on Sept. 21 during the Stanford-Oregon football game.

Shultz, the Thomas W. and Susan B. Ford Distinguished Fellow at the Hoover Institution, was U.S. secretary of state from 1982 to 1989. In 1989, he was awarded the Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor. Shultz regularly attends Cardinal football and basketball games and has helped raise money for the men’s and women’s golf programs by hosting the Shultz Cup for 25 years.

The Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame was conceived by Walt Gamage, a longtime sports editor of the Palo Alto Times. Gamage moved to Palo Alto in 1944 and quickly became interested in Stanford sports. In early 1954, Gamage organized a Hall of Fame. The first class of inductees, including 34 of the greatest names in Stanford sports history, was announced in a full-page spread in the Palo Alto Times on Dec. 21, 1954.

The Stanford Hall of Fame now includes 441 members.

Read more on the Stanford Athletics webpages. Go Cardinal.