Twelve from Stanford honored with the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers

Twelve Stanford faculty members have been named recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The PECASE is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government to outstanding scientists and engineers who are beginning their independent research careers and who show exceptional promise for leadership in science and technology.

Jenny Suckale
Jenny Suckale

Established in 1996, the PECASE acknowledges the contributions scientists and engineers have made to the advancement of science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education and to community service as demonstrated by scientific leadership, public education and community outreach. The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy coordinates the PECASE with participating departments and agencies.

The Stanford recipients and their nominating federal agencies are:

  • Scott Boyd, associate professor of pathology, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Lynette Cegelski, associate professor of chemistry, National Science Foundation
  • Percy Liang, associate professor of computer science, Department of Defense and the National Science Foundation
  • Christian Linder, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, National Science Foundation
  • Michelle Monje, associate professor of neurology, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Carolyn Rodriguez, associate professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, Department of Health and Human Services
  • Monika Schleier-Smith, assistant professor of physics, Department of Defense
  • Jenny Suckale, assistant professor of geophysics, Department of Defense
  • Gordon Wetzstein, assistant professor of electrical engineering, Department of Defense
  • Matei Zaharia, assistant professor of computer science, National Science Foundation
  • Jamil Zaki, associate profess or of psychology, National Science Foundation
  • Roseanna Zia, assistant professor of chemical engineering, Department of Defense and National Science Foundation

To learn more about the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, visit the White House website.