Seven faculty members named 2019 Sloan Research Fellows

Seven faculty members from Stanford have been named 2019 Sloan Research Fellows.

Mary Wootters
Mary Wootters is among seven faculty members named Sloan Research Fellows.

The fellowships, awarded yearly since 1955, honor early-career scholars whose achievements mark them as among the most promising researchers in their fields, according to the press release issued by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation.

The seven Stanford recipients are among 126 U.S. and Canadian researchers who will receive a two-year, $70,000 fellowship to be used as they wish to further their research.

The Stanford recipients are:

REBECCA DIAMOND, associate professor of economics
BEN FELDMAN, assistant professor of physics
KEREN HAROUSH, assistant professor of neurobiology
MELANIE MORTEN, assistant professor of economics
KEITH WINSTEIN, assistant professor of computer science
MARY WOOTTERS, assistant professor of computer science and of electrical engineering
YAN XIA, assistant professor of chemistry

Open to scholars in eight scientific and technical fields — chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences and physics — the Sloan Research Fellowships are awarded in close coordination with the scientific community.

Candidates must be nominated by their fellow scientists and winning fellows are selected by an independent panel of senior scholars in their field on the basis of each candidate’s research accomplishments, creativity and potential to become a leader in his or her field.

For more, visit the Sloan Fellowship site.