Poet Eavan Boland elected to the Royal Irish Academy

The Royal Irish Academy elected English professor and acclaimed poet EAVAN BOLAND as an honorary member.

Boland, the Bella Mabury and Eloise Mabury Knapp Professor in Humanities and director of the Creative Writing Program, was among 28 new members admitted for “their exceptional contribution to the sciences, humanities and social sciences as well as to public service,” according to an announcement from the academy.

Eavan Boland
Eavan Boland

“I’m so honored to have this association with the Royal Irish Academy,” Boland said. “The richness and texture it brings to the conversation in Ireland across the arts and sciences is immense and a great gift to the wider Irish community.”

Originally from Dublin, Ireland, Boland has produced more than 10 volumes of poetry. Her latest work is the 2016 collection of poems about nationhood and identity, called A Woman Without A Country. Her other books include New Collected Poems (2008), Domestic Violence (2007) and An Origin Like Water: Collected Poems 1967-87 (1996). She has received the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry and an American Ireland Fund Literary Award, among other honors.

In 2016, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the oldest and most prestigious honorary learned societies in the U.S, elected Boland along with five other Stanford faculty members.

Before joining Stanford in 1995, Boland was a writer in residence at Trinity College and University College Dublin, and she was poet in residence at the National Maternity Hospital.

“Eavan Boland is one of Ireland’s finest poets,” according to the academy’s announcement. “From her first collection, New Territory (1967), she has written some of the most memorable and significant poetry of our time, in works including Night Feed (1982) and In a Time of Violence (1994).”

Established in 1785, the Royal Irish Academy honors Ireland’s leading contributors to the world of learning. The academy’s 591 members include Nobel Laureate and scientist William C. Campbell, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Oxford Louise Richardson and Irish historian Mary E. Daly.