Eight students recognized with Lyons Awards for service

Lyons award
James W. Lyons with the 2018 winners of the James W. Lyons Award for service.

Eight Stanford undergraduate and graduate students were recently recognized with 2018 James W. Lyons Awards for their service to the Stanford and surrounding communities through their departments, teams, clubs, residences and community projects.

The event was attended by Lyons, who served as Stanford’s dean of student affairs from 1972 to 1990.

This year’s recipients are:

TINA CHEUK, who was honored for advocating for gender equity and for the needs of students with children and for co-founding Mothers in Academia and the Student Parent Alliance to rally for improved childcare conditions, health care and housing solutions.

PAU GUINART, who was honored for leadership and advocacy in helping the new graduate student housing project move forward and for engaging others in community building through the Graduate Community Associate program and the Graduate Student Programming Board.

KATIE HUFKER, who worked to enhance the relationship between the Stanford Band and the university and helped the group instill socio-cultural change; and for assuming leadership roles in the ASSU, especially in the development of a curriculum for incoming senators.

ZINA JAWADI, who was honored for her commitment to helping new students navigate disability services and systems while teaching the skill of self-advocacy and for representing disability as an essential part of the Stanford community.

JASMINE MUELLER-HSIA, who was honored for her making resources more accessible for transgender, queer, intersex and gender-nonconforming members of the campus community and for working with Bay Area communities, especially East Palo Alto, to encourage the development of healthy relationship skills.

HARRISON PHILLIPS, who was honored for his commitment to making sports safer for the next generation by contributing research on sports injuries and helping to develop a new concussion protocol for high schoolers and for founding Playmakers Organization in Sacramento to mentor at-risk children.

CARSON OLIVIA JAMES SMITH, who was honored for using peacemaking as a pathway to conflict resolution and using this ancient philosophy to help develop peacemaking classes offered by the d.school and the Center for Comparative Studies in Race and Ethnicity.

TESAY YUSEF, who was honored for engaging across many communities, mentoring Muslimahs and for organizing “Black Muslim Women: Representation in Digital Space.”

Also honored with a Lyons Award was Dean of Students CHRISTINE GRIFFITH, who will retire in August. Griffith worked extensively with Lyons during her 38-year tenure on the Farm. Lyons himself wrote her award citation.