Nine seniors receive Deans’ Awards for Academic Achievement

Deans' Awards
2018 Deans’ Award Winners with the deans of the three colleges that award undergraduate degrees.

Nine Stanford seniors have received 2018 Deans’ Awards for Academic Achievement, which recognize a small number of extraordinary undergraduates for their outstanding scholarly achievements.

Faculty members from across campus nominated students. The winners were selected by HARRY ELAM, vice provost for undergraduate education, and the deans of Stanford’s three undergraduate schools: STEPHEN GRAHAM, Earth, Energy & Environmental Sciences; RICHARD SALLER, Humanities and Sciences; and JENNIFER WIDOM, Engineering.

This year’s Deans’ Award winners are:

ALAN AW, mathematical and computational science with honors; biology minor.

ISABELLE FOSTER, public policy; economics minor; pursuing a coterminal master’s degree in international policy studies.

LAUREN KILLINGSWORTH, biology with honors; history minor.

JOSH LAPPEN, classics; pursuing a coterminal master’s degree in atmosphere/energy engineering.

MAYA LOREY, human biology; human rights minor.

KRISTIN MCINTIRE, human biology with honors.

CARLOS VALLADARES, American studies, film and media studies with honors.

JASON KU WANG, mathematical and computational sciences with honors; minors in biology and in digital humanities.

MATTHEW K. YELLOWTAIL, Native American studies.

Read short profiles of the 2018 Deans’ Award winners here.