David Shaw named Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year

Bradford M. Freeman Director of Football DAVID SHAW was named recipient of the Dodd Trophy on Sunday, as announced by the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation.

This is Stanford’s third all-time national coach of the year award, following Chuck Taylor (1951) and Clark Shaughnessy (1940) winning the AFCA Coach of the Year Award.

David Shaw
David Shaw. (Courtesy: Stanford Athletics)

Presented annually by the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, the Dodd Trophy, college football’s most coveted coaching award, honors the head football coach whose program embodies the award’s three pillars of scholarship, leadership and integrity, while also having success on the playing field throughout the season.

“We are proud to present college football’s most prestigious coaching award to Coach Shaw this year,” said Jim Terry, chairman of the Dodd Foundation. “Coach Dodd always emphasized that a coach’s role reached well beyond the football field into all aspects of life. Coach Shaw truly exemplifies the spirit of the award with his continued commitment to excellence in the classroom, on the football field and throughout the community.”

The 2017 Pac-12 Coach of the Year’s involvement reaches far beyond the football field. Since taking over the Cardinal program in 2011, Shaw has invested his time creating winners on and off the field. In the classroom, his student-athletes have maintained a high level of academic excellence earning an Academic Progress Rating (APR) score of 985 and a graduation success rate of 96 percent. These impressive numbers earned Stanford a spot among Clemson, Duke, Northwestern and Wisconsin as the only FBS football teams to earn APR Public Recognition Awards from the NCAA in each of the past four years. To cap off the season, two Stanford student-athletes earned Academic All-America honors, marking the first time since 2010 two Cardinal players have earned this honor in the same season.

In the community, Shaw represents the Pac-12 on the AFCA Ethics Committee and is one of 18 individuals named to USA Football’s newly created Football Advisory Committee. Last year, he was the only head football coach named to the NCAA Commission to Combat Campus Sexual Violence. In addition to his work with the commission, Shaw has been a leading advocate of the Set The Expectation program, aimed at working to end the culture of sexual assault and domestic violence among college and high school athletes. Stanford players became the first university in the country to sign the Set The Expectation student pledge, stating they would use their platforms to speak out against sexual assault and violence against women.

In seven seasons at Stanford, Shaw’s record is 73-22, the most wins of any Cardinal head coach.

Shaw was one of seven finalists for the award. The others were Paul Chryst (Wisconsin), Pat Fitzgerald (Northwestern), Scott Frost (UCF), Mark Richt (Miami), Kirby Smart (Georgia) and Dabo Swinney (Clemson).

The Dodd Trophy was established in 1976 to honor the FBS head coach whose program represents the highest ideals on and off the field. The award honors the coach of a team which enjoys a successful football season, while also stressing the importance of academic excellence and character, as did Dodd’s teams during his 22 years as head coach at Georgia Tech.

Read the entire story on Stanford Athletics‘ website.