2017 Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame class to be honored

Nine accomplished former student-athletes will be enshrined in the 2017 Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame class this week.

Jarron and Jason Collins
Jarron and Jason Collins circa 1997. (Image credit: Michael Llewellyn)

They are Jarron and Jason Collins from men’s basketball, Rachel Buehler from women’s soccer, Jackie Frank from women’s water polo, John Gall from baseball, Cassidy Krug from women’s diving, Arianna Lambie from women’s cross country, Ryan Nelsen from men’s soccer, and Dick Norman from football.

The group will be recognized on the field during the first quarter break at Saturday night’s football home opener against UCLA. They will be officially inducted during a private ceremony on Sunday at Bing Concert Hall.

The Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame was the brainchild of Walt Gamage, a longtime sports editor of the Palo Alto Times. Gamage, who had previously worked on a number of neighborhood newspapers in the Chicago area, moved to Palo Alto in 1944 and quickly became interested in Stanford sports.

In early 1954, Gamage set out to organize a Hall of Fame. The first class of inductees, including 34 of the greatest names in Stanford sports history, was announced in a full-page spread in the Palo Alto Times on December 21, 1954.

The Stanford Hall of Fame list now includes 424 members.

Read more about each Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame inductees.