Nine inductees named to ’17 Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame Class

Nine former Stanford student-athletes have been selected to the 2017 Stanford Athletics Hall of Fame class. They are Jarron and Jason Collins from men’s basketball, Rachel Buehler from women’s soccer, Jackie Frank from women’s water polo, John Gall from baseball, Cassidy Krug from women’s diving, Arianna Lambie from women’s cross country, Ryan Nelsen from men’s soccer and Dick Norman from football.

Jarron Collins ’01, Basketball: At 6’11, Jarron was an inside force and completed his Cardinal career ranking in the top 10 in rebounds, blocked shots, field-goal percentage and games played. As a senior in 2001, he was named to the 10-member John Wooden All-America team and was a finalist for the Naismith Player of the Year Award.

Jason and Jarron Collins
Jason and Jarron Collins (Image Credit: Courtesy Sports Illustrated)

Jason Collins ’01, Basketball: Born eight minutes ahead of his twin brother, Jarron, the 6’10 power forward finished his career as Stanford’s career leader in field goal percentage (.608) and was named a Third Team All-American by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) in 2001. An intelligent, physical player known for his punishing screens and tough defense, he earned Honorable Mention All-America accolades by the Associated Press.

Rachel Buehler ’07, Soccer: A tough and dependable defender, Buehler was a four-year starter and three-time captain for the Cardinal. As a senior in 2007, she received the prestigious NCAA Top VIII Award and was an NSCAA First-Team All-American Scholar.

Jackie Frank ’03, Water Polo: A four-time All-American and the NCAA Player of the Year in 2002 and 2003, Frank starred as a goalie for the Cardinal. As a sophomore in 2001, she recorded 151 saves in 25 games while allowing only 79 goals and was selected a First Team All-American by the American Water Polo Coaches Association.

John Gall ’00, Baseball: One of the best pure hitters in program history, Gall is the all-time Pac-12 leader in hits (368) and RBI (263). A three-time all-conference selection at first base (1998, ’99, ’00), his .358 career batting average ranks third at Stanford. Gall also ranks first in doubles (80), second in at-bats (1,027), third in games played (251) and home runs (46), and seventh in runs (214).

Cassidy Krug ’07, Diving: A two-time NCAA champion and seven-time All-American, Krug captured the 2007 3-meter and 1-meter springboard titles for the Cardinal. As a senior, she was undefeated in postseason competition, sweeping the Pac-10s and NCAA Zone E qualifying meet, as well as NCAA Championships, where she still holds the 1-meter record. Krug is the only Stanford diver to win the 1-and 3-meter titles in the same year, and the only 1-meter winner in program history.

Arianna Lambie, ’07, Cross Country: A 14-time All-American, Lambie established herself as one of the most prolific runners in Stanford history. In 2008, she was selected the Pac-10 Woman of the Year, and received the Al Masters Award presented to the Stanford student-athlete attaining the highest standards of athletic performance, leadership and academic achievement.

Ryan Nelsen ’00, Soccer: Born in Christchurch, New Zealand, he played two years on The Farm, establishing himself as a premier midfielder. As a junior in 1999, Nelsen was named the team’s most valuable player. He was one of only six players to start in 19 games and scored three goals, including one in the NCAA Tournament against Santa Clara and two other game winners. Nelsen earned NSCAA Far West Region All-America and MPSF All-Federation Second Team honors.

Dick Norman ’59, Football: A three-year starter at quarterback, he led the nation in passing yards, attempts and completion percentage in 1959 and 1960. Norman had a spectacular junior season in 1959, throwing for 1,963, amassing 2,018 in total offense – more than 300 yards higher than his closest pursuer — and completing 57.8 percent of his passes. He was rewarded with the inaugural Sammy Baugh trophy, presented to the best quarterback in the country.

All will be honored Sept. 23-24 and introduced at the home football game against UCLA.