Theoretical physicist James Bjorken shares 2017 Robert R. Wilson Prize

James Bjorken
James “BJ” Bjorken

Theoretical physicist JAMES “BJ” BJORKEN, professor emeritus at Stanford and at the Department of Energy’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, shares the 2017 Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators for groundbreaking theoretical work that helped researchers understand and cope with an important constraint on the intensity and focus of particle beams in accelerators.

The annual prize was awarded by the American Physical Society “for the detailed, theoretical description of intrabeam scattering, which has empowered major discoveries in a broad range of disciplines by a wide variety of accelerators, including hadron colliders, damping rings/linear colliders and low-emittance synchrotron light sources.”

Bjorken, who shares the award with theoretical physicists Sekazi Mtingwa and Anton Piwinski, is the third SLAC researcher to receive the prize.

This is just the most recent of many awards for Bjorken, who earned his PhD from Stanford. He has also won the American Physical Society’s Dannie Heinemann Prize in Mathematical Physics, the Department of Energy’s Ernest Orlando Lawrence Medal and the Dirac Medal from the International Center for Theoretical Physics. Last year he shared two more major awards in physics – the 2015 Wolf Prize in Physics and the 2015 High Energy and Particle Physics Prize of the European Physical Society.

Read more on the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory site.