Brauman receives award for public service from American Chemical Society

John Brauman
John Brauman

The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named JOHN BRAUMAN, professor emeritus of chemistry, the 2017 recipient of the Charles Lathrop Parsons Award. The annual award is given for outstanding public service.

In the award announcement, ACS hailed Brauman for his “deep expertise, sustained leadership and unselfish service to the profession through scientific journal editorships, university and national committee chairmanships and learned society executive positions.”

Brauman, who joined Stanford in 1963, has taken on many roles here, including chair of the Chemistry Department, cognizant dean for natural sciences and associate dean of research. His research has focused on understanding how molecules react and the factors that determine the rates and products of chemical reactions.

Among a long list of previous awards, Brauman has received the Dean’s Award for Distinguished Teaching, the National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Sciences and the National Medal of Science.

Brauman’s legacy of public service is further demonstrated by his commitment to the communication of science and important contributions to science policy beyond the university. He has served on and chaired numerous national committees and advisory boards. He was also deputy editor for physical sciences for the journal Science and, later, chair of their editorial board.

Read the announcement in Chemical and Engineering News.