Two Stanford engineers elected to National Academy of Engineering

Stanford engineers JENS NØRSKOV and BERND GIROD have been elected members of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE).

They are among 67 new members and 12 international members named by the Academy last week.

Nørskov is director of the SUNCAT Center for Interface Science and Catalysis at Stanford and the Department of Energy’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.

Girod is senior associate dean for online learning and professional development and a professor of electrical engineering in the School of Engineering.

Election to the academy is one of the highest professional distinctions bestowed on an engineer. According to a press release announcing this year’s new members, NAE honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature,” and to the “pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Nørskov is the author of more than 450 scientific publications and winner of a number of awards, including the 2015 Irving Langmuir Prize of the American Physical Society for his groundbreaking work on catalysis; the Michel Boudart Award from the North American Catalysis Society and the European Federation of Catalysis Societies; and the Gabor A. Somorjai Award from the American Chemical Society. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and a member of the Royal Danish Academy of Science and Letters and the Danish Academy of Engineering.

Girod, faculty director of the Stanford Center for Image Systems Engineering, was cited by NAE for his contributions to video compression, streaming and multimedia systems.