Awards honor Stanford student organizations, individuals for their service

Four Stanford student organizations have received Student Activities and Leadership Campus Impact Awards, which recognize contributions to the community. In addition, the Dean of Student Life Office honored eight individual students for their exceptional contributions.

SAL Campus Impact Award

Sara Jenks ’16 as Eliza Doolittle during a rehearsal of the Asian American Theater Project’s production of “My Fair Lady.”  The Theater Project was cited for its dedication to sharing work that addresses the Asian and Asian American experience. (Photo: Linda A. Cicero/Stanford News)

Given by the Office of Student Activities and Leadership, the awards honor organizations for their contributions in four categories: “Building Bridges,” “Inspiring Innovation,” “Leaving a Legacy” and “Capturing the Spirit.”

  • For Building Bridges: The Asian American Theater Project, an organization dedicated to the sharing and creation of work that addresses the Asian and Asian American experience through theater and the performing arts;
  • For Inspiring Innovation: MINT magazine, a student-run fashion and culture publication;
  • For Leaving a Legacy: Kids With Dreams, an organization dedicated to improving the lives of disabled children;
  • For Capturing the Spirit: Challah for Hunger, which brings people together to bake and sell challah bread to raise money and awareness for social justice causes.

“This year’s honorees have earned recognition for unique achievements including staging the first student-directed musical production in Bing Concert Hall, publishing a fashion and culture magazine, maintaining strong partnerships that engage youth with disabilities, and creating fun and accessible service opportunities on campus,” said a press release announcing this year’s winners.

Lyons award winners, from left, Timothy Huang, Dominique Mikell, Hunter Kodama, Jim Lyons, Tessa Ormenyi, Annie Atura, Karen  Jared Naimark and Sandra Kjono and Sandra Powroznik
Lyons Award winners, from left, Timothy Huang, Dominique Mikell, Hunter Kodama, Jim Lyons, Tessa Örményi, Annie Atura, Karen Powroznik, Jared Naimark and Sandra Kjono.



The James W. Lyons Award for Service

The Lyons Award for Service is named in honor of JIM LYONS, who served as Stanford’s dean of student affairs from 1972 to 1990. This year’s winners are:

ANNIE ATURA, a doctoral student in English, for her “unique and innovative programming at the Women’s Community Center, which has engaged both men and women in feminist dialogue.”

TIMOTHY HUANG, ’14, a coterminal student majoring in human biology and education, “for innovative curriculum design, program development and mentorship that continues to engage youth and educators in STEM subjects with an aim of increasing student participation throughout K-12 schooling and for establishing a youth-run café in Bhutan that empowers youth to train others for employment in the tourism industry to uplift themselves and their community.”

SANDRA N. KJONO, a graduate student in electrical engineering, for “stepping up to assume a leadership position in the newly founded Student Veterans Affairs Office, uniquely representing the needs of both undergraduate and graduate student veterans through your personal experience, and for reinvigorating the Stanford Native American Graduate Student Organization through your enthusiastic leadership, dedication to service, inclusive style and intellectual curiosity.”

HUNTER CRAIG KODAMA, ’14, a senior majoring in public policy, for his “passion and commitment to serving the Stanford community in the many roles you have held, including Dance Marathon leadership, ASSU elections commissioner, student activities and leadership peer adviser, resident assistant for Kappa Sig, freshman transition coordinator and executive cabinet member.”

DOMINIQUE AISHA MIKELL, ’14, a senior majoring in philosophy, for “enthusiasm and leadership as executive director of Alternative Spring Break; expanding the program’s infrastructure and scope to include a fall quarter ThanksGiving Back service opportunity.”

JARED NAIMARK, ’14, a senior majoring in Earth sciences, for hisefforts to promote a nuanced understanding of international human rights conflicts on campus by engaging with academic departments and local organizations as president of STAND and for bolstering the Haas Center for Public Service’s support of student activists and championing public service among Stanford students as a peer adviser.”

TESSA EVA ÖRMÉNYI, ’14, a senior majoring in comparative studies in race and ethnicity, for “dedication and leadership as head producer of the 2013 Faces of Community production during New Student Orientation, fostering a campus community of tolerance, acceptance and understanding around all aspects of diversity.”

KAREN POWROZNIK, a doctoral student in sociology, for “tireless dedication serving the Stanford community in many roles including New Graduate Student Orientation co-coordinator, community associate, lecturer and teaching assistant of sociology courses, and co-chair of the Graduate Student Programming Board.”