Stanford Women’s basketball players recognized for their performance on the court

Chiney Ogwumike, Number 13, and Amber Orrange, Number 33 (Photo: Don Feria)

The past two weeks have brought well-deserved recognition to Stanford women’s basketball senior forward CHINEY OGWUMIKE and junior point guard AMBER ORRANGE.

Last Thursday, Ogwumike received the 2013-14 Capital One Academic All-America of the Year award for Division I women’s basketball.  The awards program, administered by College Sports Information Directors of America  (CoSIDA), selects an honorary sports team composed of the most outstanding student athletes of a specific season.

The All-America announcement makes Ogwumike the first member of the Stanford women’s basketball team to earn the honor. She joins a star-studded list of former Cardinal standouts who also earned it for their respective sports, including ANDREW LUCK (football, 2012), NICK AMUCHASTEGUI (wrestling/at-large, 2011 and 2012), ALIX KLINEMAN (women’s volleyball, 2010), RACHEL BUEHLER (women’s soccer, 2007) and TOMMY VARDELL (football, 1991).

On Monday, Feb. 24, Ogwumike was named Pac-12 Player of the Week for the eighth time this season while Orrange was named one of 22 finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award.

In addition to being Ogwumike’s eighth Player of the Week honor of the season, it is also the 17th of her career.

Orrange is one of two Pac-12 point guards on the list for the Nancy Lieberman Award, given annually to the top point guard in the nation. Cal’s BRITTANY BOYD is also on the list. This year’s winner will be announced at the Final Four in Nashville.

Behind Orrange’s leadership, the Stanford women’s basketball team has captured its 14th straight Pac-12 regular-season title following this past weekend’s sweep of USC and UCLA.

Stanford’s team, with the Pac-12 Tournament’s top seed already in hand, finishes the regular season at Maples Pavilion this weekend, hosting Washington Thursday at 8 p.m. and Washington State Saturday at 7:30 p.m. Both games will be broadcast live on the Pac-12 Network.