Feldman, Newsome elected to the American Philosophical Society

Marcus Feldman

William T. Newsome

MARCUS FELDMAN, professor of biology, and WILLIAM T. NEWSOME, professor of neurobiology at the School of Medicine, are among the 37 new scholars recently elected to the American Philosophical Society.

Feldman, who holds a Burnet C. and Mildred Finley Wohlford Professorship in the School of Humanities and Sciences and is the director of the Morrison Institute for Population and Resource Studies at Stanford, uses applied mathematics and computer modeling to simulate and analyze the process of evolution. Earlier this year, Feldman won a $1 million prize from the Dan David Foundation for his work.

Newsome, who won the Dan David Prize in 2004, is an investigator at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. His research seeks to understand the impact of the brain and its processes on vision, perception and decision-making. Last year he was co-winner of a $1.3 million Champalimaud Vision Award.

Founded in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin for the purpose of “promoting useful knowledge,” the American Philosophical Society honors and engages leading scholars, scientists and professionals through elected membership and opportunities for multidisciplinary, intellectual fellowship. It supports research and education through grants, fellowships, lectures, publications, prizes and exhibitions.