(Top, from left) Jonathan Long, Diyi Yang, and Susan Clark. (Bottom, from left) Priyanka Raina, Li-Yang Tan, and Ching-Yao Lai. (Image credit: Francine Freeman/Courtesy of Diyi Yang/Courtesy of Susan Clark/Courtesy of Priyanka Raina/Rod Searcey/Matthew Edwards)

Six Stanford faculty members are among the recipients of 2024 Sloan Research Fellowships, which recognize talented scientists in the United States and Canada.

“Sloan Research Fellowships are extraordinarily competitive awards involving the nominations of the most inventive and impactful early-career scientists across the U.S. and Canada,” said Adam F. Falk, president of the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, in the announcement. “We look forward to seeing how fellows take leading roles shaping the research agenda within their respective fields.”

The two-year fellowship is available to early-career scientists and offers $75,000 to help advance their research. The Sloan Research Fellowship was established in 1955 by the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, a nonprofit organization that supports scientific advancement. A total of 247 Stanford faculty have received the award, including this year’s winners.

The 2024 Sloan Research Fellows from Stanford are:

To be eligible for the fellowship, scholars must do research in the following scientific disciplines and technical fields: chemistry, computer science, Earth system science, economics, mathematics, neuroscience, and physics. Candidates are nominated by fellow scientists and the winners are selected by independent panels of senior scholars based on each candidate’s research accomplishments, creativity, and potential to become a leader in their field.

For more information, visit the Sloan Research Fellowship site. Nominations for the 2025 Sloan Research Fellowships will open on July 15, 2024.