Stanford News


CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Panofsky receives one of world's oldest science medals

W. K. H. Panofsky, professor emeritus at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center, has been awarded the Matteucci Medal for his "outstanding merits in physics." The medal is awarded annually by the Italian National Academy of Sciences. The organization, also known as the Academy Quaranta, was founded in 1785. The academy has been awarding the Matteucci Medal since 1868. Matteucci, a noted scientist and politician, died that year. Some of the greatest figures in the physical sciences are among its recipients, including Lord Kelvin, Thomas Edison, John Rayleigh, Konrad Röntgen, Pierre and Marie Curie, Albert Einstein, Robert Millikan, Enrico Fermi, Werner Heisenberg, Freeman Dyson and John Wheeler. The award ceremony took place on March 22 in Rome.


By David F. Salisbury