Stanford News


CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

New directors for Stanford-UCSF merged patient services

Fifteen members have been named to the board of directors of UCSF-Stanford Health Care, the merged patient services of Stanford University and the University of California-San Francisco.

The new directors include three representatives each of the UC Board of Regents and the Stanford Board of Trustees, as well as three independent directors chosen by a selection committee. Other members of the board include the UCSF chancellor, the Stanford president and deans and faculty representatives from both medical schools. The board will meet within the next few weeks to discuss the process of selecting a chief executive officer and chief medical officer of the nonprofit organization. Their selection will complete the 17-member board.

The new board members are:

On Nov. 15, 1996 the University of California Board of Regents, the Stanford Board of Trustees and the board of Stanford Health Services all voted to create UCSF-Stanford Health Care. The new, nonprofit public benefit corporation will unite Stanford Health Services, which comprises Stanford University Hospital and related clinics; the Lucile Salter Packard Children's Hospital; UCSF Medical Center; and UCSF/Mount Zion Hospital.

The independent directors were selected by a committee, named by UC and Stanford, that comprised William Coblentz, senior partner with Coblentz, Cahen, McCabe & Breyer; Don Fisher, founder and chairman of The Gap, Inc.; Robert Halperin, past vice chairman of the Raychem Corp. board of directors; and Ernest Mario, co-chairman and chief executive officer of ALZA Corp.

Additional background information on the new board members includes:

Independent directors

Dr. Behrman, in addition to his work with the Center for the Future of Children, is a clinical professor of pediatrics at both Stanford University and UCSF. Previously, he served as vice president of medical affairs and dean of the school of medicine for Case Western Reserve University. Dr. Behrman's areas of special interest include perinatal medicine, intensive and emergency care of children, the provision and organization of children's health and social services, and related issues of public policy and ethics.

Hellman serves on the boards of directors of Levi Strauss, American President Companies and the Brookings Institution, among others. He was chairman of the board of trustees at Mills College until May 1992, and director of the UCSF Foundation and a member of the UCSF Campaign Cabinet from 1991 to 1996.

Rosenberg is on the boards of Airborne Express, Potlatch Corp., Northrop Corp. and Pacific Telesis Group. He is a former chairman of MasterCard International, and has been vice chairman of Wells Fargo Bank and president and chief operating officer of Seattle First National Bank.

UC regent representatives

Atkinson was named 17th president of the nine-campus system in 1995 following more than 15 years of service as chancellor of the University of California-San Diego. He is an internationally recognized scholar in psychology and cognitive science and served as director of the National Science Foundation under President Jimmy Carter.

Dr. del Junco is a surgeon in Los Angeles and chairman of the board of governors of the U. S. Postal Service.

Leach is a corporate executive involved in numerous businesses, including Leach Capital Corp. and Cypress Farms Inc.

Stanford trustee representatives

Dr. Myers is director of health care management of Ford Motor Company. He has been an associate director of the medical/surgical intensive care unit and chairman of the quality assurance program at San Francisco General Hospital, New York City Health Commissioner, and Indiana State Health Commissioner.

O'Leary is a former general partner with Menlo Ventures in Menlo Park. She has served on the boards of directors of the Carey School, the Western Association of Venture Capitalists and YWCA of San Francisco/Marin/San Mateo Counties.

Stein is a founder of Waverly Associates of Palo Alto. He has been chairman of the executive committee of the Raychem Corp.; chair of the board of Esprit de Corps; a partner with Heller, Ehrman, White & McAuliffe; and a director of ALZA Corp.