Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

GSB Professor Srinivasan wins top award

STANFORD -- Marketing professor V. "Seenu" Srinivasan was presented the American Marketing Association's highest award for market research at the organization's annual marketing research conference on September 30.

Srinivasan, the Ernest C. Arbuckle Professor of Marketing and Management Science at the Stanford Graduate School of Business, received the 1996 Charles Coolidge Parlin Award for his visionary leadership in the application of science to the discipline of marketing research. Recognized for his development of new concepts and methods for "measuring, understanding and using consumer preference information," Srinivasan was noted for his widespread influence on both practitioners and researchers. Srinivasan's primary area of academic interest is conjoint analysis, a method of measuring the relative importances of a product's attributes by identifying the tradeoffs that customers make to buy it. The method is used to improve the development of new products and services.

The American Marketing Association's award was only the most recent for Srinivasan, who has also received the President's Gold Medal of the Indian Institute of Technology (Madras), the Superior Teaching Award of the University of Rochester's MBA program, and the ORSA, O'Dell and TIMS College of Marketing best paper awards. Srinivasan joined Stanford Business School in 1974, after teaching at Carnegie Mellon University and the University of Rochester. Srinivasan earned his PhD in business administration at Carnegie Mellon with a doctoral dissertation in operations research.

Named for Charles Parlin of Curtis Publishing Co., who was recognized for his early benchmarking studies of consumer issues, the Parlin Award has been given annually since 1945. Previous recipients include pollsters Arthur C. Neilsen, George Gallup and Daniel Yankelovich, advertising pioneer David Ogilvy, and educators and writers Peter F. Drucker and Michael Porter. Vincent P. Barabba of General Motors Strategic Decision Center also was named this year.



Download this release and its related files.

This release is provided in pdf format, requiring Adobe Acrobat. Text and images are bundled and compressed using the StuffIt program. Images are provided at publishing quality.

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.