Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Four honored for contributions to undergraduate education

STANFORD -- Two faculty members and two graduating seniors received Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel Awards for outstanding service to undergraduate education at Stanford University commencement ceremonies Sunday, June 18.

The awards were presented to Jonathan Roughgarden, professor of biological sciences and geophysics; Luis Fraga, associate professor of political science and director of the Stanford Center for Chicano Research; Ana Rowena Mallari, a senior in human biology; and Clark Andrew Moore, a senior in political science.

Roughgarden was cited for "being a founder and a driving force behind the Earth Systems Program, one of the most rigorous, demanding and yet most popular undergraduate majors," and "for bringing together faculty and students from four schools and eight departments into a truly interdisciplinary effort to understand how the environment functions and what the role of humans is in shaping the planet's future."

Roughgarden also was honored for his research, teaching and advising skills.

Fraga won the award "for providing a positive influence and inspiration for students and peers, and for his inexhaustible willingness to give of himself and encourage his students to learn and to grow."

Fraga's award also recognized him "for going beyond the traditional boundaries of the classroom, touching hundreds of lives with his commitment to advising excellence, residential education, curriculum design, friendship and mentorship."

Mallari, who received her bachelor's degree Sunday, was singled out "for her vision to introduce gifted minority and under-represented low-income high school students to current environmental issues" by planning and developing the Stanford Youth Environmental Science Program.

Mallari also was honored "for her organizational skills in the development of a model for faculty, student, community and national cooperation in the recruitment, teaching, innovative curricular design and funding for the program."

Moore, who also received his bachelor's degree at the ceremony, was honored "for his tireless and productive work as coordinator of educational and social programs for the 1994 Stanford in Washington Program, for his contributions as a Stanford AIDS volunteer educator and as an advising associate in Donner House, and for his leadership as business manager and singer with the Stanford Mendicants."

Moore also was co-director of the Costaño School Leadership Program, which creates leadership and community service opportunities for East Palo Alto middle school students.

Dinkelspiel Awards are given annually to faculty or staff members and to one man and one woman from the senior class who have made distinctive contributions to the development and enrichment of undergraduate education.

Endowment for the awards was given in 1960 as a memorial by the family and friends of Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel, who served as president of the Stanford Board of Trustees from 1953 to 1958.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.