CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Nominations solicited for O'Neill staff award

STANFORD -- Nominations are being solicited from faculty for the annual Marshall D. O'Neill Award, which recognizes staff contributions to the university's research enterprise. The award will be presented at a Faculty Club reception Dec. 13.

The award, accompanied by a $2,000 cash prize, is Stanford's only formal faculty recognition of staff. A faculty panel will select the recipient.

Staff from all schools and any job classification are eligible, including academic staff and SLAC employees. Potential recipients might include those who directly support research, such as technicians, secretaries, librarians and research associates, or those whose efforts are behind the scenes, such as sponsored projects administrators or controller's office staff members.

The award was established in 1990 and named for its first recipient, Marshall O'Neill, when he retired as longtime associate director of Hansen Laboratories.

In 1992, the faculty committee presented the award to Manuel Gutierrez, a technician in the Hansen Experimental Physics Lab. Two staff members, Thomas Rindfleisch, a senior research engineer in the Department of Medicine, and Robert Kernoff, a senior clinical research scientist in the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine, received the award in 1993.

Faculty can submit nominations to Carol Vonder Linden, assistant dean of research, at Room 2-O, Building 1 (MC: 2065) or via e-mail to HF.CDV@Forsythe no later than Friday, Nov. 11.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.