CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Biologist Simoni elected chair of 1994-95 Faculty Senate

STANFORD -- Robert D. Simoni, professor and chair of biological sciences, has been elected chair of the Stanford Faculty Senate for 1994-95.

Simoni will succeed his biological sciences colleague Patricia P. Jones.

Jones, in turn, will take over Simoni's job as chair of biological sciences in September.

Simoni was elected by majority vote of the 55 members of next year's Faculty Senate.

Serving with Simoni on the senate Steering Committee will be Professors John Bender, English; Steven G. Boxer, chemistry; Bradley Efron, statistics and health research and policy; Phyllis I. Gardner, clinical pharmacology; Step hen D. Krasner, political science; and Gail A. Mahood, geological and environmental sciences.

Alternates are Joseph W. Goodman, electrical engineering; Lucille Shapiro, developmental biology; and James C. Van Horne, business.

The senate was created in 1968 as the representative body of the Academic Council, which includes more than 1,300 members of the Stanford professoriate. The senate approves students' degrees and sets university policy on curric ulum, academic programs, admissions and research.

Simoni has been active in university governance dating back to 1974, serving a total of 14 years on the Faculty Senate and several times on its Steering Committee.

Among his other campus activities, he chaired the Health and Safety Committee from 1988 to 1991, and currently is president of the Faculty Club board of directors.

In his research, Simoni studies how cholesterol levels are regulated in cells. His work is of direct clinical relevance to the problems of heart disease and hardening of the arteries with aging.

Simoni earned his bachelor's degree in biology at San Jose State University in 1962 and went on to earn a doctorate in biochemistry from the University of California-Davis in 1966. He was a National Science Foundation postdocto ral fellow at Johns Hopkins University from 1966 to 1968, then served there as a research associate until 1971, when he came to Stanford as an assistant professor.

He won a dean's award for teaching in 1976.

Advisory Board elections

In the 1994-95 Advisory Board elections, Professor James G. March, business, was elected as representative of Advisory Group I, which includes the schools of business, education and law. Alternates are Michael W. Kirst, educati on; Joanne Martin, business; D. John Roberts, business; and Mark A. Wolfson, business.

In addition to his election to the Steering Committee, Efron was elected to the Advisory Board from Group III, Section A, the sciences division of Humanities and Sciences. Alternates are John I. Brauman, chemistry; Alexander L. Fetter, physics; Simoni; and Richard N. Zare, chemistry.

The seven-member Advisory Board reviews all academic appointments, reappointments and promotions before they are submitted to the president for final action. It also reviews recommendations for the creation or abolition of depa rtments. The president and provost solicit advice from the Advisory Board on appointments of academic deans and on other issues. The Advisory Board also hears faculty grievance appeals. Members serve staggered three-year terms.

Results of the Steering Committee and Advisory Board elections were verified by the Committee of Tellers, made up of Daniel Bershader, Harvey Hall, Eric Hutchinson, Irwin Remson, H. Donald Winbigler and Academic Secretary Mario n Lewenstein.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.