CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

11 Stanford faculty elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

STANFORD -- Eleven members of the Stanford University faculty have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in recognition of their "distinguished contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts."

The academy - founded in Cambridge, Mass., by John Adams in 1780 - was chartered "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity and happiness of a free, independent and virtuous people."

The 184 new fellows and 26 foreign honorary members, whose election was announced Friday, March 11, were led by 12 each from Harvard and Yale Universities and the 11 from Stanford. There now are more than 3,700 academy members from a broad range of geographic, professional and cultural backgrounds. Among the fellows are 168 Nobel laureates and 62 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The Stanford community now has 186 persons elected to the academy, including six scholars affiliated with the Hoover Institution.

In addition to faculty members, new members with Stanford affiliations are Andrew S. Grove of Intel Corp., a member of the advisory council of the Graduate School of Business' and recent lecturer in business, and Douglas C. Engelbart, inventor of the computer "mouse" and director of the Bootstrap Project at Stanford.

The new fellows elected from the Stanford faculty are:



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.