CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Academic Secretary Marion Lewenstein to leave post

STANFORD -- Academic Secretary Marion Lewenstein will leave her post at the end of the academic year to return to full- time teaching and research.

In announcing Lewenstein's decision to the Faculty Senate on Feb. 3, Provost Condoleezza Rice said she had asked Lewenstein to reconsider, but to no avail.

English Professor John Bender, chair of the Committee on Committees, said his panel also attempted to dissuade Lewenstein from leaving the post. Finding no success, the committee has forwarded a list of faculty members who might serve on a search committee for her replacement.

Lewenstein has worked 70 percent time as academic secretary, and 30 percent as a professor (teaching) in the communication department.

She joined the communication department in 1975, and continued contributing to Time and Fortune while writing for professional news journals and serving as a newspaper consultant. She was named outstanding journalism educator at the four-year college level in 1981 by the California Newspaper Publishers Association.

Lewenstein won a Dinkelspiel Award for outstanding service to undergraduate education in 1978.

She was named academic secretary in June 1991, succeeding Education Dean Emeritus Arthur Coladarci, who died the previous January. When she accepted the position, she said she would serve at least three years.

President Gerhard Casper joined Rice in praising Lewenstein for her service to the faculty.

The Academic Secretary independently coordinates the faculty's role in university governance, organizing the work of the Academic Council and the Faculty Senate, its 55-member elected governing body. The secretary also is responsible for the senate minutes and the historical record on academic legislation.

Lewenstein has been the 15th academic secretary in Stanford history, and the fifth to serve since the Faculty Senate was formed in 1968. In addition to Coladarci, others who have served the Faculty Senate are Professors Clara Bush, linguistics; Eric Hutchinson, chemistry; and H. Donald Winbigler, speech and drama, and longtime dean of students.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to newslibrary@stanford.edu.