Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Efron and Conley to head Advisory Board for 1993- 94

STANFORD -- Bradley Efron has been elected chair of the Advisory Board of the Academic Council for the 1993-94 academic year. Dr. Frances K. Conley will serve as vice chair, and Perry L. McCarty is secretary.

Efron, who is the Max H. Stein Professor in the School of Humanities and Sciences, holds appointments in both the Department of Statistics and the Department of Health Research and Policy. After completing his doctoral work at Stanford, he joined the faculty in 1965.

He was associate dean of the School of Humanities and Sciences from 1987 to 1990, and is currently serving his second term as chair of statistics. His research is in the areas of bootstrap methods, statistical inference, applications in public health and medicine, and computer-intensive statistical methods in parameter estimation.

Efron's numerous honors include fellowships in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics. He was named Outstanding Statistician of the Year in 1981, and he was recipient of a MacArthur Prize in 1983. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, and he received the Wilks Medal from the American Statistical Association.

Conley holds three Stanford degrees - a bachelor's degree in biology with distinction, a doctor of medicine degree and a master's degree in management from the Graduate School of Business. A faculty member since 1975, Conley is a professor of neurosurgery and head of the neurosurgery program at the Palo Alto Veterans Affairs Hospital.

Conley's research has focused on infections in the central nervous system, immunologic mechanisms in the brain, and the development of therapeutic approaches using the immune system.

McCarty, secretary to the board, is the Silas H. Palmer Professor of Civil Engineering. Other members of the 1993-94 Advisory Board are Michael E. Bratman, philosophy; Sidney D. Drell, deputy director and professor at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center; Lee S. Shulman, the Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education; and Amos N. Tversky, the Davis-Brack Professor of Psychology.

The Advisory Board, a body of seven full professors elected by the 1,300-member Academic Council, provides universitywide review of all academic appointments, promotions and dismissals, and considers recommendations for the creation or abolition of academic departments.

The president solicits advice from the Advisory Board on appointments of academic deans and department chairs. Board members are elected for three years. The board selects its own officers.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.