Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Three faculty, two students receive Dinkelspiels for service

STANFORD -- Marine biologist Charles H. Baxter, China scholar Philip J. Ivanhoe, and human biologist Herant Katchadourian were presented with Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel awards at Stanford University's 1993 commencement ceremony June 13.

Graduates Charles R. Hokanson of Pleasanton, Calif., and Tamara Watts, of Seattle, Wash., also received Dinkelspiels, which recognize outstanding service to undergraduate education.

Baxter, a senior lecturer at Stanford's Hopkins Marine Station on Monterey Bay, was cited "for touching the lives of innumerable students at Hopkins Marine Station and on campus with the joy of discovery and research in marine sciences, and for finding innovative ways to involve students in asking new questions rather than plowing old ground."

He also was recognized "for conveying a familiarity, respect and appreciation for the oceans and the environment that last far beyond any exam or research project; and for being an adviser, friend and mentor inside and outside the classroom to students at all stages of development and at all levels of study."

Ivanhoe, an assistant professor of philosophy and religious studies, was honored "for giving hundreds of undergraduate students valuable insights into and appreciation of China's rich cultural, philosophical and literary traditions; for his ability to present complex and profound philosophical ideas in a lively manner and with remarkable clarity; and for the rigor of his scholarship and for his emphasis on the use of original ancient Chinese documents."

He also was recognized "for his ready availability and for the vast amount of time spent with Stanford students and colleagues; and for organizing seminars and reading groups around student interests as varied as feminism, aesthetics, literary theory and Japanese philosophy."

Katchadourian, a professor in Stanford's Program in Human Biology, was cited "for the clear vision, well-considered innovations, and warm humanity he has brought to all of his service at Stanford University," including work as university ombudsman, vice provost, and dean of undergraduate studies.

The citation noted especially his "seemingly inexhaustible commitment to teach undergraduates in a style which challenges, stimulates and makes even the largest lecture hall seem small and personal" and his "tireless efforts to reach beyond traditional boundaries of the classroom to touch hundreds of students' lives with the essential gifts of sympathy, perception and encouragement."

Katchadourian also was honored for his research on undergraduate education, "which has allowed this institution to build on its strengths and identify its weaknesses in thoughtful and informed ways, and which has contributed significantly to the national reexamination of undergraduate life."

Hokanson, who earned a bachelor's degree in American Studies and history and a master's degree in history, received the Dinkelspiel "for his unselfish dedication to service, and an exceptional gift for motivating his peers to volunteer in the realm of community service."

He was particularly cited for his leadership of the Alpha Phi Omega national coed service fraternity, resulting in a 500 percent increase in membership, and for his work in student government, on university committees, and at the Haas Center for Public Service.

Watts, a history graduate, was recognized for her role as resident assistant in Lagunita Hall and "for managing always to find those 'teachable moments' in her interactions with residents by encouraging others to think creatively and to find their intellectual voices."

She also was honored for her leadership of the peer writing- tutor program at the Center for Teaching and Learning, for her service as an advising associate, for her work as new student housing coordinator, and for her many contributions to the Jewish community at Stanford.

Dinkelspiel Awards are given annually to faculty or staff members and to a man and woman from the senior class who have made distinctive contributions to the development and enrichment of undergraduate education in its broadest sense.

Endowment for the awards was given in 1960 as a memorial by the family and friends of Lloyd W. Dinkelspiel, who served as president of the Board of Trustees from 1953 to 1958.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.