Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Patricia Jones elected chair of Faculty Senate

STANFORD -- Patricia Pearce Jones, professor of biological sciences and an active faculty leader in the last year's budget-cutting deliberations, has been elected chair of the Stanford Faculty Senate for 1993-94.

Jones, who succeeds Professor William H. Northway, radiology and pediatrics, was elected by majority vote of the 55 members of next year's Faculty Senate.

Serving with Jones on the senate Steering Committee will be Professors Russell A. Berman, German and comparative literature, associate dean of humanities and sciences and director of Overseas Studies; Donald J. Brown, economics; Anthony E. Siegman, electrical engineering; and Robert D. Simoni, biological sciences.

Alternates are Gene F. Franklin, electrical engineering; Regenia A. Gagnier, English; James C. Van Horne, business; William H. Simon, law; and Timothy R. Warner, director of university budgets.

The senate was created in 1968 as the representative body of the Academic Council, which includes more than 1,300 members of the Stanford professoriate. The senate approves students' degrees and sets university policy on curriculum, academic programs, admissions and research.

Jones has long been active in faculty governance, having served several terms as a senator and member of the senate Steering Committee. This year, she is a member of the senate's new Planning and Policy Board.

In 1991, she was named deputy chair of the ad hoc senate Committee on Education and Scholarship at Stanford, which played a major role in soliciting and communicating faculty views on the university's $43 million budget-adjustment program in 1991-92.

Jones' research involves basic study of the immune system, which has implications for understanding disease susceptibility in humans and the control of autoimmunity. She researches the genetic variability, regulation and expression of a set of proteins known as histocompatibility antigens, key regulators of immune responses.

Since its inception in 1988, Jones has chaired the interdepartmental doctoral program in immunology, which now draws more than 30 faculty from a broad range of basic science and clinical departments from the schools of Humanities and Sciences and Medicine. Twenty-seven students are enrolled in the program.

A long-time freshman adviser and faculty adviser for the Women in Science and Engineering Network, Jones in 1987 became the first winner of the Hoagland Prize for Undergraduate Teaching. She was selected from more than 50 candidates nominated by students and faculty. She also was first female recipient of the $50,000 Founders' Prize given by the Texas Instruments Foundation in 1984.

Jones earned her bachelor's degree at Oberlin in 1969 and her doctorate at Johns Hopkins in 1974. A postdoctoral fellow at the University of California-San Francisco from 1974 to 1976 and at Stanford from 1976 to 1978, she joined the faculty in 1978.

Advisory Board elections

In the 1993-94 Advisory Board elections, Professor Perry L. McCarty was elected as representative of the School of Engineering's Advisory Board Group No. II.

Professor Frances K. Conley, neurosurgery, was elected to a second three-year term from the School of Medicine's clinical sciences section of Advisory Board Group No. VI.

The seven-member Advisory Board provides universitywide review of all academic appointments, promotions and dismissals, and for the creation and abolition of departments. The president solicits advice from the Advisory Board on appointments of academic deans and departments chairs.

Elected as alternates to McCarty were William C. Reynolds, mechanical engineering; James D. Plummer, electrical engineering and associate dean of engineering; Gene F. Franklin, electrical engineering; and William D. Nix, materials science and engineering.

Conley's alternates are Sarah S. Donaldson, radiation oncology; David K. Stevenson, pediatrics; Richard L. Popp, cardiology; and H. Barrie Fairley, anesthesia.

Results of the senate Steering Committee and Advisory Board elections were verified by the Committee of Tellers, made up of Harvey Hall, Halsey L. Royden, H. Donald Winbigler and Academic Secretary Marion Lewenstein.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.