Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Three Stanford faculty members win 1993 Guggenheim awards

STANFORD -- Three Stanford faculty members, including two professors in the law school, have been awarded John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowships for 1993.

The recipients are Seth Lerer, professor of English; A. Mitchell Polinsky, Josephine Scott Crocker Professor of Law and Economics in the School of Law and director of the John M. Olin Program in Law and Economics; and William H . Simon, professor of law.

Lerer's topic of study is "the culture of spectatorship in late medieval England." Polinsky's topic is "the economic theory of public enforcement of law," while Simon's is "a theory of legal ethics."

Also among those honored was Debbora Battaglia, an associate professor of anthropology at Mount Holyoke College and visiting associate professor of anthropology at Stanford in 1992-93.

The four are among the 146 artists, scholars and scientists selected from among 2,989 applicants. Awards this year total $3,925,000.

Guggenheim fellows are appointed on the basis of distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment. Since 1974, 128 Stanford faculty and staff have received Guggenheim awards.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.