Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Six Stanford faculty elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

STANFORD -- Six members of Stanford's faculty have been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in recognition of their "distinguished contributions to science, scholarship, public affairs and the arts."

The Academy, founded in Cambridge, Mass., by John Adams in 1780, was chartered "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people."

The six new members raise to 158, the number of members from the Stanford community elected to the academy.

The new members are:

  • Lee Ross, professor of psychology
  • Jonathan Roughgarden, professor of biological sciences.
  • Eric Shooter, professor of neurobiology at the medical school.
  • John B. Taylor, professor of economics
  • Peter M. Vitousek, professor of biological sciences.
  • Gavin Wright, professor of economics.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.