Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Twelve students receive dean's award for service

STANFORD -- Twelve Stanford students - including a campus AIDS educator, ethnic community leaders, and managers of the 1992-93 Stanford Directory - have received the James W. Lyons Award for Service for their exceptional contributions to the university.

The students were honored at a ceremony and dinner at the Buck Estate March 9. The awards, named for Stanford's longtime dean of student affairs, were presented by the current dean of students, Michael Jackson.

Alexander MacAlalad, a senior majoring in computer science, was honored for his role in establishing the HIV Anonymous Testing Peer Counseling Program at Cowell Student Health Center and for his leadership role in other campus, regional and national efforts in AIDS/HIV prevention and education. The citation called his peer counseling program "student-focused, student-run and highly regarded throughout the campus."

James Mendoza, a senior majoring in microbiology and immunology, was cited for revitalizing and strengthening Stanford's CPR and first aid programs, "working hundreds of hours since 1989 as CPR student coordinator." His comprehensive rescue program has now certified more than 275 students.

Eva Silva, a junior majoring in human biology, was recognized "for her boundless energy in promoting the welfare of the Chicano community both on and off campus" as an East Palo Alto student tutor, co-chair of MEChA (the Chicano student organization), a member of Ballet Folklorico and Teatro Xicano, and programming coordinator of El Centro. Among the events she helped to produce were the freshman orientation banquet, Raza Day for high school students, La Gran Posada, and a statewide MEChA conference.

Isabel Bourelle, a junior in biological sciences, and Myra Parker, a sophomore in human biology, were recognized for their leadership as co-chairs of the Stanford American Indian Organization (SAIO). In particular, they were cited for guiding that organization's response to the Quincentennial of Columbus' voyage in October 1992, "providing the university community with numerous opportunities for education, reflection and fellowship," and for developing of a group study-hall program and peer tutoring program.

Pat Dote and Jim Haljun, seniors majoring in Values, Technology, Science and Society, were recognized "for setting a new standard for multicultural musical programming on campus." Haljun worked as director of the Concert Network and Dote as general manager of KZSU radio station. Together they created Hip Hop Night, a popular Coffee House program series featuring contemporary black music.

Chris Eisenberg, a senior majoring in history and Andrew Zurn, a graduate student in industrial engineering, were honored for their work as project director and business manager of the 1992-93 Stanford Directory. Together, they helped produce a directory "of the highest quality and accuracy ever," grossing $280,000 (advertising revenues were up $12,000 over the previous year). The citation called their work "a textbook example of a campus business project managed by students for the benefit of all."

Becca Bracy, Elson Liu and Darcy Thompson, seniors majoring in mechanical engineering, and Values, Technology, Science and Society, were cited for their extensive public service work and for creating the American Studies course, "Process and Practice of Community Service." The seminar combines rigorous academic work with residence-based opportunities for individual and community development, "effectively uniting philosophies and efforts too frequently isolated or fragmented."

The James W. Lyons Award for Service was established to recognize and applaud service contributions made by students from a variety of schools, departments, teams, clubs, residences and community projects. All enrolled students are eligible.

Selections are made on the basis of nominations by faculty, staff and students. Nominations can be made in the form of a letter or memo addressed to Michael L. Jackson, Dean of Students, 323 Old Union. The deadline for submitting nominations for spring quarter awards is April 16.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.