Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Alumni elect four new trustees

STANFORD -- Four new trustees will join Stanford University's governing board this September as a result of alumni balloting, Stanford Alumni Association officials announced Monday, June 15.

The winners in the 35-and-under category are:

  • Mariann Byerwalter (BA '82), 32, of San Francisco. Byerwalter is a partner with America First Financial Corp., providing merger and acquisition advice for the financial services industry. She is a former chair of the Stanford Alumni Association board.
  • Michael J. Perez (BA '87), 27, of San Diego. Perez is an associate at Brobeck, Phleger and Harrison. He practices general business litigation and heads the firm's minority recruiting committee.

The winners in the 36-and-over category are:

  • Ann K. Bingaman (BA '65, LLB '68), 49, of Washington, D.C. Bingaman is partner and head of the litigation department at Powell, Goldstein, Frazer and Murphy.
  • Mernoy E. Harrison (BS '69, MBA '74), 44, of Sacramento. Harrison is vice president for administration at California State University-Sacramento.

Runners-up in the election were James S. Backer of Valencia, Calif.; Andrew K. Brown of Bethesda, Md.; David O. Brownwood of Greenwich, Conn.; and Elizabeth Chavez of Venice, Calif.

The next scheduled election is in 1995. Nominations may be addressed to the Stanford Alumni Association, and a formal call will be issued in the spring of 1994.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.