Stanford University News Service



CONTACT: Stanford University News Service (650) 723-2558

Business graduates evidence commitment to public service

STANFORD -- "What differentiates the Stanford Graduate School of Business from other outstanding business schools is its commitment to public service," the director of the school's Public Management Program, James Thompson, told an exuberant crowd of graduates and well-wishers at commencement ceremonies Sunday, June 14.

A record 52 graduates fulfilled the additional requirements for a certificate in public management this year and MBA students saluted a classmate who conceived and organized the most ambitious public service project in the school's history.

Under a bright, breezy summer sky, 380 women and men received graduate degrees. The school awarded nine doctorates and 328 master's of business administration degrees, including one JD/MBA awarded jointly with the School of Law. Another 43 master of science degrees were presented to graduates of the yearlong Sloan program for middle-level managers. Fifty recipients of the MBA earned certificates in public management and, for the first time, two Sloan graduates earned public management certificates.

The top 10 percent of the MBA class were designated Arjay Miller Scholars, honoring a former dean of the School. Miller himself presented the awards.

Barry D. Reynolds, a 1984 graduate of the University of California from Vacaville, Calif., is top scholar this year. As Henry Ford II Scholar, he will receive $5,000.

Richard F.C. Dobbs, a 1988 graduate of Oxford University from London, England, was selected by the finance faculty for the Alexander A. Robichek Student Achievement Award in Finance, named for a former faculty member.

David C. Michael, a 1987 graduate of Harvard University from San Diego, Calif., was chosen by his classmates for the Ernest C. Arbuckle Award. Named to honor a former dean, the Arbuckle Award is given to the graduating MBA student who is judged to have contributed most to the fulfillment of the goals of the Business School through active participation, initiative, leadership and personal integrity.

Susan Arbuckle, daughter of the late dean, presented the award to Michael who, she explained, "conceived the idea of the first graduate student-sponsored 'I Have a Dream' program. He managed the organization of this program, raising over $400,000, involving 60 fellow students in tutoring and mentoring at the Flood School in East Palo Alto. Through their efforts, two classes of children, third and fourth graders, are promised college tuition and are given the kind of support they will need to stay in school."

In his acceptance address, Michael challenged the assembled guests.

"Under this same beautiful sky, in the shadow of the same mountains and alongside the same beautiful bay, there are a lot of students who will never have a chance to fulfill the kinds of dreams that we have already fulfilled," he said.

"How can we study ethics at a business school without being shocked by the immorality of that? How can we study statistics and not be appalled by the fact that 62 percent of kids in East Palo Alto have no reasonable chance of graduating from high school? How can we study accounting and not want to take account of that? And how can we study leadership and not want to do something about it?

"I'm proud to be part of a group of 60 or more of our classmates who have taken the lead in doing something about it."

Michael said that he hopes the Stanford I Have A Dream program will be a model for other schools. His group already has been approached by Yale Divinity School students for advice.

The names of the Arjay Miller scholars, besides Barry Reynolds, are: Ashwin Adarkar, Anthony L. Alles, Richard H. Berger, Sarah E. Daniels, David M. Demski, Sanjeev Dheer, Richard F.C. Dobbs, Julie Edwards, Hugh M. Evans, Keith E. Gillespie;

Wycliffe K. Grousbeck, Ajay Gupta, Jonathan P. Hare, Michael K. Kaplan, Basil E. Karampelas, Elizabeth Koski, Andrew L. Krainin, Susan M. Kurys, Michael D. Lohner, John F. Martin (not in attendance), Rick M. McConnell;

Timothy M. Miller, Mercedes Mostajo, Joanna M. Munro (not in attendance), Shinichiro Nakano, Richard E. Nelsen, Dana Packard, Barry D. Reynolds, Julia M. Usher, Istvan F.K. Vamos, Francesca N.R. Varcoe and Christine P. You.



This is an archived release.

This release is not available in any other form. Images mentioned in this release are not available online.
Stanford News Service has an extensive library of images, some of which may be available to you online. Direct your request by EMail to

© Stanford University. All Rights Reserved. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300.